Frequently Asked Questions

We get many, many calls and emails every day from people charged with various VTL violations and misdemeanors all over the state of New York. Below we try to answer some of the most frequently asked questions regarding traffic tickets in the town of Colonie. As more come in and, as time allows, we will add to our list. If you have a question not answered here, please feel free to send us an email using the contact form or call our office to speak with someone from our office.

How Much is a Speeding Ticket in Colonie, New York?

We've found that most people asking this question are looking for the amount, in exact dollars and cents, of the fine due as a penalty for speeding. The problem with this question is that there is no easy answer.

Unlike some other states, New York does not include a fine with the traffic citation at the time of the stop. When an officer pulls you over in the town of Colonie and accuses you of speeding, or any other violation of New York Vehicle & Traffic law, they will leave you with a paper "ticket". This ticket has a detailed description of your motorist information, vehicle, and charges you are now facing. Sometimes the ticket is also accompanied by a second sheet of paper called the Supporting Deposition which can include a description of the circumstances of the stop and any statements you may have made to the officer. Before a fine can be assessed, you are required to "answer" your charges with a plea of GUILTY or NOT GUILTY. In other words, the ticket is only an accusation, not a conviction, therefore no fine willl be issued until you have a chance to either affirm or contest the charges. Be sure to answer your ticket in a timely manner or a default judgment may be entered on your behalf or your license may be suspended for failure to answer the summons.

If you answer the ticket with a plea of GUILTY, you will receive a fine in the mail which you must pay per the court instructions. State law gives the local judge power to determine the amount of the fine (within certain limits) so you will not know how much you owe until you receive the Fine Notice from the court. Higher speeds and repeat violations tend to carry higher fines. The permissible fine ranges are broken down below along with their corresponding point ranges. These figures include the mandatory $85.00 state surcharge:

1-10mph over the speed limit (3 Points) - $145.00 - $235.00 Fine.

11-20mph over the speed limit (4 Points) - $175.00 - $385.00 Fine.

21-30mph over the speed limit (6 Points) - $175.00 - $385.00 Fine + ($300.00 minimum Driver Assessment Fee).

31-40mph over the speed limit (8 Points) - $265.00 - $685.00 Fine + ($450.00 minimum Driver Assessment Fee).

41mph and over the speed limit (11 Points) - $265.00 - $685.00 Fine + ($675.00 minimum Driver Assessment Fee and mandatory license suspension).

If you plead NOT GUILTY, you willl be able to contest the ticket. If the court is willing to agree to a reduction of charges, the fine you pay will be based on the section of Vehicle & Traffic law that you plead guilty to as an alternative to the speeding ticket. Section 1201a, for example, is a 0 point parking violation that carries a fine of $50.00 to $150.00 with no state surcharge. Section 1110a, a 2 point non-speeding violation, typically includes a fine of $150.00 plus the $85.00 state surcharge.

So, as you can see, the answer to the question "How much is a speeding ticket in Colonie?" or any other town in New York state is difficult to answer.